Fear and Respect

Wayne has put the fear and respect of 26.2 miles into me.  I recently met Wayne, who is a friend’s dad, at an Indiana-style cookout.  Wayne is no ordinary friend’s dad.  Wayne is the type of friend’s dad who has run a few marathons and volunteer coaches a high school cross country team.  Wayne also logs 15 miles every weekend and routinely joins the team of high schoolers for 7 to 8 miles runs.  Oh, and I also should mention that Wayne is over 60.

Yes. 60.  years.  old.

The man can run and knows what it takes to properly train for  a marathon and get your body in proper condition.  When he was told that I was running a marathon, he began to quiz me about my training and the distances I had already run. At the time, my longest run had clocked about 17 miles.  This was about three weeks ago with the San Francisco Marathon quickly approaching.

He seemed a bit dismayed that I had only reached the 17 mile mark and only had a month to go.  I, on the  other hand, thought I was doing pretty good.  We talked a little more as he relayed to me what to expect and I kept nodding.  Nodding, while thinking, ‘Oh shit…I’m totally screwed.  What have I gotten myself into?’  I found out the next day from my friend that on their ride home, Wayne had expressed concern for me and my lack of training. According to Wayne, it is imperative that you ‘fear and respect those 26.2 miles’.  Well, now thanks to Wayne, I fear and respect the 26.2.  I just hope it’s not too late.

Training Run #43 – 17.5 mi – 9.42 mi/min

Training Run #44 – 6.47 mi – 9.05 mi/min

Training Run #45 – 8.82 mi – 9.46 mi/min

2 Responses to “Fear and Respect”


  1. 1 Teddy de Burca Jnr August 5, 2008 at 10:14 am

    Scaredy pants.

    When is this marathon anyway?

  2. 2 jenny (nugent) melgaard August 5, 2008 at 8:48 pm

    dude, you can TOTALLY run this marathon. I did the exact course (unless it changed) and though it can suck at times, it is also exhilarating. I dropped a tear or five when I crossed the finish line and they draped me with this silver cape. My advice is don’t stop running…..it is hell to get started again, so even if you jog as slow as a soi dog on a hot Thai day moves, just keep moving.

    I am so proud of you.

    x nooge


Leave a Reply

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Miles I’ve Run Since Getting Roped Into Running the San Francisco Marathon on March 23, 2008:

322.53

