Does 2/3rds of Outside Lands Kinda Suck?

I realize that’s it’s all personal preference.  I have a friend who thinks Cake is the best think since sliced bread.  Personally, I don’t really get it.  Another thing I just get is plunking down $250 for a weekend of music.  Unless, of course, it is a stellar line up. Outside Lands…I’m not so sure.

I don’t think you can really argue the quality of Friday with Radiohead (!!!), Beck (!!), Manu Chao (!), Cold War Kids (?!?), and Black Keys (?).  Couple that with the once in a lifetime opportunity to freeze your balls off in Golden Gate Park.  Maybe there’s a reason there has never been a night time concert in Golden Gate Park…I’m digressing.  Back to the lineup.  Is $250 really worth it after Friday night?  Tom Petty is pretty cool.  Wait. Tom Petty was pretty cool when I was 15 and saw him at the Forum in L.A. and he wore that goofy top hat and sang Free Fallin’.  Ben Harper??? Maybe if I still had my Snodgrass piece, my pony tail, and paid $30 for a weekend at High Sierra. Does High Sierra still exist?  Ben Harper? I’m already getting sleepy.  Primas…I definitely can’t dis Col. Les, but with 50,000+ people? I’m kind or scared.  But what really makes me happy/confused is Steve Winwood.  Yes, Steve Winwood.  Maybe I am too young but I just can’t get over cheesy ’90s Steve Winwood. When I think Steve Winwood, I don’t think Dear Mr. Fantasy. I think ‘Give me a higher love…wo ohh’.  I’m still not sure how he fits into this night.  You can go down the line on Saturday and it just doesn’t excite me too much, if even at all.  Yes, I’d like to see Cafe Takvba, but Galactic is playing and they don’t even have the House Man anymore!  I’m having trouble mustering the motivation to type GOAPALE. What is a GOAPALE?

On to Sunday…All I can say is that I really don’t want to be anywhere near a festival show that involves Jack Johonson, Widespread Panic, and The Mother Hips.  I’m getting bored just thinking about it.  Could someone explain to me why I should pay close to $250 for this 3-day lineup?

Training Run #22 – 11.31 mi –  9.33 mi/min

Training Run #23 – 5.96  mi –  8.58 mi/min

2 Responses to “Does 2/3rds of Outside Lands Kinda Suck?”


  1. 1 conchita May 8, 2008 at 5:08 am

    They are selling single-day tickets, silly. $85 for Friday. Problem solved.

  2. 2 bfabian May 8, 2008 at 6:59 pm

    Yes, problem is solved. Luckily, the good people at Outside Lands have given PaiWing staff 3-day all access passes to cover the fest. I gotta get my Steve Winwood fix! Woot Woot.


Leave a Reply

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Miles I’ve Run Since Getting Roped Into Running the San Francisco Marathon on March 23, 2008:

322.53

