Free Tibet (and I ran before work today!)

Today was the big day for the Olympic torch to be run through San Francisco. This would be the only North American appearance for a flame that had been nearly extinguished in London and had to be protected by police on rollerblades in Paris. (Yes, rollerblades). Such a ruckus abroad, would San Francisco be any different?

Before I answer that, I wanted to let you all know that I am officially back on track for the SF Marathon after a lazy week of training. I had a good run up through the panhandle and GG Park yesterday. Then, I actually managed to get out of bed really early today to have a pre-work run through the Mission. Pre-work run over, I watched a bit of the morning news and saw the masses gathering down near the ballpark for the official start of the torch relay. I then learned that my roommate Audrey TiVos the Golden Girls so she can watch them in the morning before work. Hmmm.

Back to the torch. At work, I read there was a bit of commotion downtown, so I went down to the Ferry Building during lunch to see what was going on. Thousands of people were massed shouting various slogans supporting various causes. Then these two silent, naked and hairless chaps strolled up and ‘voiced’ their cause. From what I could gather, their cause was the right to carry a fake torch, with a fake tan, wearing no clothes except for golden cock rings down the Embarcadero. I would have thought they were official, but their rings weren’t exaclty ‘Olympic’ size.

Training Run #8 – 4.41 mi – 8:59 min/mi
Training Run #9 – 3.12 mi – 9.22 min/mi

1 Response to “Free Tibet (and I ran before work today!)”


  1. 1 Teddy April 10, 2008 at 6:39 am

    I think he’s going for that naked sun-kissed Olympian look that was all the rage 2,000 years ago at the games which were after all invented by naked sun-kissed Grecians with a penchant for same-sex partners.

    The Chinese are sure to leave Tibet after that spectacle.


Leave a Reply

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Miles I’ve Run Since Getting Roped Into Running the San Francisco Marathon on March 23, 2008:

322.53

