The Ressurection

Today is the first day of the rest of my life.  I know that phrase is usually associated for retirement, but, in my case it relates to a decision to run the San Francisco Marathon in August.  Today, I began my training.  I agreed to do this thing with three friends.  Only one of us has actually run a marathon, but the rest of us have blind confidence.   I mean, with twenty weeks to prepare, why can’t we run 26.2 miles through the streets of San Francisco?  On Wednesday we registered online, paid $100, and selected the correct size running shirt.  Talk about a racket.  How do you get people to pay $100 to physically punish themselves? I don’t understand.

Since the ‘official’ training groups are already filled up and began  weeks ago, we are on our own.  Fine by us.  Official training? We don’t need no stinkin’ official training.  So, as I was knocking back a few Stellas last night I did a little internet research and found some marathon training schedules that looked remotely doable.  Today I did my fist run in preparation.

I’m in L.A. right now and its Easter Sunday. I think if I become a world-class marathon runner I will move  back to L.A.  It was a sunny 80 degrees by 9am.  Sure makes running a lot more enjoyable.  As I was about half way through my first run, I started to  think about Jesus.  You know, it being Easter and all.  I started to think that this is what Jesus must have felt like all those years ago.  The resurrection…Jesus was starting the first day of the rest of his life.  Just as this thought crystallized in my mind, I turned a corner and saw two nuns walking down the street in their sexy little black habits.  As I jogged past, I said, ‘Happy Easter, sisters!’  They smiled and I kept running.   The resurrection…Only in L.A.

Training run #1 – Los Angeles, CA – 3.46 mi, 30.54, 8.55 min/mi

4 Responses to “The Ressurection”


  1. 1 Teddy March 24, 2008 at 8:08 am

    The question is can you run a marathon wearing a red skirt and a large afro wig?

  2. 2 bfabian March 25, 2008 at 2:34 am

    That is a difficult question to answer, Teddy. Or, shall I call you STOKES? The afro wig does not breathe very well. I think I should overheat if I wore the wig for 26.2 miles. However, the red dress is very sheer and aerodynamic.

  3. 3 Teddy March 25, 2008 at 3:16 am

    STOKES? My name is Teddy De Burca Jnr. Son of Teddy de Burca Snr. Husband of Mrs. Teddy de Burca Jnr. Relative, descendant, nephew, uncle, cousin and distant cousin of other people whose names end in de Burca or alternatively Bourke if they live in Dublin where everyone’s posh and sophisticated and so forth.

    Thanks you for your kind answer to my question. I knew a woman once who competed in the Minsk Olympics on Mount Thac Da wearing a large afro and a tight red skirt. I admired her then, I admire her still.

    People’s eyes in Hanoi still twinkle at the mere mention of the name My Thuat.

    “She’s so fine, she’s so pretty, she is the belle of Hanoi City.
    What a bloody pity, she’s getting married in the morning.”

  4. 4 Seth March 25, 2008 at 6:56 am

    Official Training runs will be celebrated with Beer and Cigarettes which means you may need to start smoking again.


Leave a Reply

March 2008
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Miles I’ve Run Since Getting Roped Into Running the San Francisco Marathon on March 23, 2008:

322.53

